Page 1 of 5 12345>
Topic Options
#114519 - 09/28/17 03:52 PM Getting what you want with what you've got...
Sargeist Offline

Loc: Chile
...while also being realistic about what you can get.

It sounds pessimistic, but after some events in the past few months I realized what I really want in life within the scope of what I can handle. Problem is, I'm not sure how to get it.

Attracting people is simply something I'm not good at. It's hard for me to communicate effectively, and I rarely make people laugh. I do have a lot of knowledge about music, art, literature and cinema, but all I get from others is that I'm "interesting", which doesn't seem to be enough to make them want to hang around with me.

If the only kind of person who gets to attract people are the funny ones, what can anybody without a good sense of humour do to be more likable?

#114522 - 09/28/17 06:03 PM Re: Getting what you want with what you've got... [Re: Sargeist]
Czereda Offline

Loc: Poland
 Originally Posted By: Sargeist
If the only kind of person who gets to attract people are the funny ones, what can anybody without a good sense of humour do to be more likable?

Stop whining, for example. That could help.

This forum really should have Dear Abby section.

#114525 - 09/28/17 08:37 PM Re: Getting what you want with what you've got... [Re: Sargeist]
Asmedious Moderator Offline

Loc: New York
You seem to communicate well here. Maybe your problem is not with not being able to attract people, but the kind of people you are trying to attract.

Although a sense of humor is useful to put people at ease and even get them to enjoy being around you, another thing that is important is to listen to them and take interest in them. Or at least pretend to.
People LOVE to talk about themselves and get subconsciously orgasmic when a person seem to take genuine interest in what they have to say.