Page 1 of 6 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#11766 - 09/23/08 10:12 AM What is your profession?
The Zebu Offline

Loc: Orlando, FL
Haven't seen a thread like this, so I might as well go ahead and start one. I'm curious from a demographic perspective, anyway.

As for myself, I'm a full-time uni student (studying Digital Media) working various part-time retail jobs. I have done a deal of freelance digital illustration work, though.

When I get out, I'm looking to get a job in either illustration, animation, or video production.

#11770 - 09/23/08 05:55 PM Re: What is your profession? [Re: The Zebu]
ZephyrGirl Offline
R.I.P.

Loc: Adelaide Australia
These days, I work in IT. I used to run an IT support center, but now I just work on a helpdesk for a large construction company. I get to visit various sites and interact with lots of men (always a bonus for me), whilst still having little stress. It's actually a great company and a great job (15 hours per week due to my health).

Changing from being a neurotic dancer (ha ha) to the IT industry was one of the most challenging and difficult things I've ever done.

Not the study of IT, but actually getting that first real job and foot in the door. The first IT job I took paid shit, was stressful and I was really under the pump, but within two years I'd proved myself and had tripled my wage and been given two promotions, so it was well worth it in the long run.

Now I have many contacts in the industry, at many firms and will never struggle looking for work again. Plus most don't know what I use to do, so I don't even have that following me around like a bad smell. Not that what I did was something to be ashamed of, it's just that people as we know, have preconcieved ideas about it. Hell, it's taken me three years to post an old glamour photo pic here, where people are more open minded than most.....and I always have to say that I wasn't a table/lap/pole dancer in a disclaimer. LOL