Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#26749 - 07/03/09 08:03 AM Operating Systems For The Damned
god.over.djinn Offline
pledge

Loc: Melbourne
Hello All,

I was just curious as to whether anyone else here uses Ubuntu Satanic Edition? I have been using it for about 6 months now and think it is a lot of fun.

It is also a good Satanic icebreaker. When in a crowd of fellow geeks to whom it would be silly to advertise my infernal allegiances, I can still get a few laughs and some shocked stares - it just tickles me pink - when I mention which OS I favour.

Or maybe you have some other OS which is even more evil? (Windows doesn't count. Stupidity trumps all claims to evil.)

Come, share your tales of thrills and spills!

#26752 - 07/03/09 08:40 AM Re: Operating Systems For The Damned [Re: god.over.djinn]
Meq Offline
Banned

Ubuntu Satanic Edition has been banned from Distrowatch, full story here.

Originally Posted By: Ladislav Bodnar, Distrowatch
There is no way I am going to add this distro to DistroWatch...

I don’t consider the name “Satanic edition” as an appropriate name for a Linux distribution. Believe me, there are many very sensitive people visiting DistroWatch who would be offended by the name of your distro. There is a line between what is and what isn’t an appropriate name for a software product and I believe that you’ve crossed that line.

The Christian and Muslim editions had no problems though. Discrimination?

Personally I didn't find that distro terribly "Satanic", more a stereotypical Goth "blood, skulls and death" theme.

Comments?

P.S.
I've been using the evil Windows 7 Release Candidate (64-bit edition) of late, which effectively expires the end of February 2010.

Does anyone have any problems with how these editions collect information? It's mostly technical info on crashes (and I've had a few), but I can see how many would object to being "monitored".

#26763 - 07/03/09 04:58 PM Re: Operating Systems For The Damned [Re: Meq]
god.over.djinn Offline
pledge