Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#322 - 09/13/07 01:26 PM The God Who Wasn't There (Documentary )
blackdragon31560 Offline
pledge

Loc: Hell Paso, TX
well i'm not good at writing summary's so i copied it from IMDB http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0455507/

Quote:
Documentary filmmaker Brian Flemming examines the Bible and discusses the history of early Christianity, raising doubts as to whether the New Testament personage Jesus ever really existed. Flemming examines the similarity of the Jesus story to other savior myths of the time and points to inexplicable gaps in early Christian history that combine to shed doubt on the Bible's Jesus story.

Its hard to find now (it was released in 2005) but if you know where to look online you can find it. Over all its good documentary, though at the end i thought it lost focus. Just wondering if anyone has seen and what they thought about it. kind of like the Halloween thread.

Here's clip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUBqgucLXzk

Edited by blackdragon31560 (09/13/07 01:27 PM)

~ Niccolo Machiavelli

#326 - 09/13/07 02:15 PM Re: The God Who Wasn't There (Documentary ) [Re: blackdragon31560]
deadeyes Offline
lurker

I saw this documentary a few months ago. The presentation was compelling enough for those coming to terms with the Christian myth. Up until the last part of the film it was good, but his personal vendetta gotcha style interview with the superintendent was tasteless.

#336 - 09/13/07 07:59 PM Re: The God Who Wasn't There (Documentary ) [Re: blackdragon31560]
Meq Offline
Banned

The lack of empirical evidence for the historical existence of Jesus has been known for donkey's years.
But hardly anyone, apparently, wants to know.
The Church's propaganda has been that effective.

Take the following 78-yr-old quip:

"Historically, it is quite doubtful whether Christ ever existed at all, and if He did we do not know anything about Him..."
- Bertrand Russell, speaking in his 1929 lecture "Why I Am Not A Christian"