Page 1 of 4 1234>
Topic Options
#41018 - 07/29/10 12:26 PM Musicians
Lamar Offline

Loc: Alabama
Do we have any musicians amongst us? Music is my passion, it's been apart of me for my entire lifespan. I am a drummer playing currently for 18 years. Any fellow drummers with us?
#41038 - 07/29/10 03:36 PM Re: Musicians [Re: Lamar]
Dan_Dread Offline
stalker

Loc: Vancouver, Canada
I've played drums in 3 separate bands so far. It's been about ten years since I have seriously practised, though. Turns out I wasn't fated to be a rock star \:\)

#41074 - 07/30/10 03:30 AM Re: Musicians [Re: Lamar]
Knievel74 Offline

Loc: NY
I'm not a drummer but if I could do it all over again I would be. I love drums. I've been a lead guitarist for the past 25 years and a bassist for the past 15 years.

And yeah, with all the good things my last band had going for it, it turns out I wasn't meant to be a rock star either.

#41080 - 07/30/10 05:04 AM Re: Musicians [Re: Lamar]
Dimitri Offline
stalker

Have been a guitarist for a few years, started at the age of 9.
I have played in different bands and left some of them for various reasons (didn't like the genre they wanted to play, opposing personalities, split due to reasons of time,..).

I however have played and sometimes play solo on stage. I prefer to be a musician who plays for fun. Now only doing gigs only for friends, family and maybe if I'm a bit short on cash or when the given artists suck big time (happened a time or 2).
Most of the time also being asked as a stand-in and roadie if one of the guitarists is sick or doesn't know the song that well.

Drums would have been a second instrument I wanted to play (never got round owning one), yet have some skill due to a few drumming lessons from a friend and the fact from time to time doing easy songs behind the drums (example would be Seven nations army - the white stripes).