Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#5185 - 03/10/08 05:40 AM Brother In Arms
DaVinci Offline

Loc: Australia
Before reading on, I suggest to those who are uninterested in what I have to say and deem me some kind of "Parrot" to discontinue reading on -- as this will probably only bore you and will no doubt result in an undesireable outcome and response from both parties.

Most of you would already know that I serve in the Military. As part of the training I received at Kapooka, I was taught to trust my friend -- in the Military life, your fellow soldier is not just a soldier, but a lifetime friend -- and give him even more reason to trust you because, at the end of the day, you may rely on eachother to bring yourselves out of a situation that is potentially fatal to both. He is your Brother in Arms.

Most of you would also be of the understanding that I am not a proclaimed Satanist; I am infact a Freemason and have been for several years -- it is only in the past few months that I have decided to join the United Grand Lodge of New South Wales (a Masonic centre located in Canberra).

In the time I spent overseas in the Middle East, I learnt one crucial thing: it does not matter what religious preference or doctrine you are of, you are always going to need the bloke next to you. The majority members of the Australian Defence Force are of Christian-value, and most are heavily religious -- especially when overseas. We have been taught that discrimination is not tolerated, and that respect must be held at its utmost to each and every soldier you work with.

What I'm interested in hearing from you all, is why you think it is possible for the Military to teach you the values of respect and to respect your friend's religion no matter what, but why it is becoming more and more intolerable in society and social morality, to dislike and hate anyone who stands in opposition to your own religious preferences.