Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#54720 - 05/20/11 12:49 AM Of Pain and Suffering
Lamar Offline

Loc: Alabama
What are your views toward negativity/pain/suffering?

I am a musician - a drummer, songwriter, and lyricist. I choose to embrace pain and negativity in my material. After all, everyone experiences pain and can relate in some way. Some even vicariously. I think that negativity is a motivator. Stagnation accompanies complete joy and happiness, in my opinion. If one can only experience joy then how can one distinguish it from pain?

Realistically, I think that pain and suffering is a more relative view of reality. I first started forming these views when I was in high school, I was in a band and wanted to express myself. I noticed how virtually everyone was bombarded with pain and suffering. Identity issues, drug and alcohol abuse, broken homes, homelessness, failed realationships, suicides etc. were visable and rampant. So I exploited pain and the negative side of the human experience in that band.

Musically speaking, there are other personal factors that have influenced the material that I write about, such as depersonalization disorder. I am actually writing an album that focuses on depersonalization and anxiety disorders as narrated by a main character in the album. It focuses on the emotions felt and mental state of the character.

So, what is everyone elses views toward pain and negativity?

#54726 - 05/20/11 02:25 AM Re: Of Pain and Suffering [Re: Lamar]
6Satan6Archist6 Offline
stalker

Fuck it, it's my Friday and I have nothing better to do so I will indulge you in your inquiry:

Pain...hurts.

Other kinds of "pain" like, for example, the sensation of being tattooed is (for me at least) rather enjoyable. So it isn't really accurate to refer to it as pain.

But actual physical pain - things that hurt - I'm against them. The reason(s) should be obvious. I don't have much more to add to that.