Page 1 of 4 1234>
Topic Options
#56576 - 07/06/11 04:04 PM Some criticisms/questions for Satanists
Sean the Mystic Offline
Banned
stranger

First I want to commend the members of this forum for the high quality of the discussions here. I am not exactly a Satanist, but I have found nothing that comes closer to my own perspective. Here are a few questions/criticisms of Satanism that come to mind, which I will bravely post despite my total newbie status.

Isn’t there a better name for this form of spirituality which doesn’t have the deistic, Judeo-Christian connotations? I use the word “Cosmism” for a religion I have invented, which is a kind of Lovecraftian Cosmicism/Cosmic Satanism/Sithism. What I envision is a cosmic religion suitable for our entire dark universe, based more in science and science fiction than in medieval Christian mythology.

Secondly, isn’t the idea of self-deification almost Christian in its impossible idealism? As a Cosmicist, I am skeptical that man can ever be anything more than a speck of dust on a grain of sand in an infinite, incomprehensible universe. Do Satanists not share this sense of cosmic awe and insignificance? Isn’t self-deification just another form of self-delusion?

Finally, does anyone here honestly believe that “magic” can produce tangible results in the objective world, or is it just a form of theater and psychological manipulation? I come to this forum from the perspective of a somewhat mystical ex-scientist, but the obsession with occult “workings” is the aspect of the Left Hand Path that I am least impressed by. As theater I have no problem with it, but as a means of manipulating the Cosmos it seems quite primitive and ignorant to me.

Edited by Sean the Mystic (07/06/11 04:09 PM)

#56577 - 07/06/11 04:30 PM Re: Some criticisms/questions for Satanists [Re: Sean the Mystic]
Jake999 Offline