Page 1 of 3 123>
Topic Options
#74748 - 01/22/13 09:44 PM The Role of Magic in Satanism?
Glitter Heart Offline
lurker

Loc: California
I am still learning about Satanism, so I hope you will excuse this question. I hope to not offend those of you who are practitioners of magic.

I was really drawn to Satanism due to its practicality. I like the concepts of "vital existence instead of spiritual pipe dreams" and "undefiled wisdom instead of hypocritical self-deceit." However, the role of magic in Satanism seems somewhat incongruous to these concepts.

I understand magic as a psychodrama--a tool to get out one's pent-up emotions. Also, I can see magic rituals working as in that book "The Secret" where creating vivid mental imagery leads you to accomplish your goals by envisioning the end results. But these are the only ways I can conceive of magic being a real force.

I do not understand the role of magic as a power that works in the real world. It just seems to go against the practicality of Satanism. I have been reading "The Secret Life of a Satanist" and LaVey seemed to really believe in the power of magic. People he put a hex on died shortly thereafter, which seems to confirm the power of his curses but I am skeptical.

If magic worked, wouldn't magicians all be the wealthiest, most powerful, best looking people on earth? (Of course, maybe they are!)

Again, my intent is not to offend; I am sincerely interested about how magic fits in to Satanism. I would love to hear about your viewpoint and especially welcome any recommendations for further research on the topic. (I did do a search of the forum) Thank you. \:\)

#74751 - 01/22/13 10:04 PM Re: The Role of Magic in Satanism? [Re: Glitter Heart]
Asmedious Moderator Offline
veteran member

Loc: New York
 Quote:

I do not understand the role of magic as a power that works in the real world. It just seems to go against the practicality of Satanism.